Snacks are Good

I’ve found one key to avoiding junk food is having a healthy snack I can reach for when I would really prefer to reach for something else.  I came across these “cookies” the other day and they are SO healthy and super easy to make.  I must admit, they taste a bit like cooked baby food, because of all the banana in them, but I quickly got over that as my mouth thanked me for giving it something resembling the substance of a cookie.  You can get the recipe here.

DSC05211

Just five simple ingredients   The original recipe called for craisins, which I think would make it better and less -hmm- baby foodish. But, we were out of them, so I opted for raisins instead.

DSC05212

Bananas EVERYWHERE.

DSC05213

The original recipe does not specify the amount of cinnamon to add, so, looking back, I think I would have added a little more to give it a punch. (Does cinnamon punch?)

DSC05221

I ended up making the batter, then sticking it in the fridge for a couple of hours to run a few errands.  This might be a good thing to do, even if you don’t have errands to run, as it makes the dough a little easier to deal with.

DSC05225

I’ll be truthful here: these babies don’t look incredibly appetizing to me, but they are good, just not super sweet.  But, I think the longer I’m away from sugar, these types of natural snacks will taste better and better.  If you want to make these, but want a little extra sweet, throw in a tiny bit of stevia or other natural sweetener.

P.S. I went to the cookout I mentioned in my previous post and was able to stay away from gluten! A hamburger patty without the bun is a lot easier to eat , anyway 😉

2 thoughts on “Snacks are Good

  1. Didn’t know you were living without sugar!!! WOW! You are superwoman!
    I am going to try these “cookies” for my kiddos.

  2. You’re too kind!
    I made these cookies again today and added craisins and golden raisins along with pecans and some extra cinnamon. I think those ingredients perked it up a bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

